U.S. one of two countries offering birthright citizenship

While the United States is contemplating granting amnesty to illegal aliens, the rest of the world is moving in the opposite direction. A recent example of this is the Dominican Republic’s decision to terminate the practice of granting blanket citizenship to those born there regardless of the parents’ immigration status.

On September 26, ABC News reported an Associated Press story about the Dominican Republic’s Constitutional Court decision. To read that story click here.

Because this decision affects mostly neighboring Haiti, the Court’s decision immediately drew flack from the usual suspects. There has been no shortage of charges of racism and discrimination. Those charges are fueled in part because Dominicans are predominantly white, and their neighbors in Haiti are predominantly black.

But the Court’s decision had more to do with Haitians’ abuse of Dominican hospitality and economic reality, not with anyone’s skin color.

The fact is that the practices of birthright citizenship and unchecked migration are totally unsustainable under any circumstances. Those practices become totally insane when two countries have a common border and a huge disparity in economic development and standards, such as is the case with Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

It is interesting to note that the Associated Press did not mention the fact that Haiti does not grant birthright citizenship. On this issue, Haiti is in step with the rest of the world, because only 32 nations have birthright citizenship while 159 do not. That is almost a one to five gap. That gap has grown and continues to grow as more nations realize the inadvisability of birthright citizenship.

The following is a detailed tally of how the nations of the world stand on this issue.

Developed nations that OFFER birthright citizenship: (2) Canada, United States

Developed nations that DO NOT OFFER birthright citizenship: (39) Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holy See, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Other Nations that OFFER birthright citizenship: (30) Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaiyán, Barbados, Belice, Bolivia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Lesotho, Mexico, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

Other Nations that DO NOT OFFER birthright citizenship: (120) Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe