Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame 2015 Inductees Named

The Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony recognizes and honors Arizona veterans who have honorably served their country through military service and who have continued to serve and inspire their fellow citizens with deeds and accomplishments throughout their lifetime.

The annual Induction Ceremony of the Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame will take place on Friday, October 23rd, from 11:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. at the Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, 2000 W. Westcourt Way, Tempe 85282.  Doors open at 10:30 a.m. Veterans and the public are invited to the Induction Ceremony, which includes lunch.

This will be the 15th class of veterans inducted since 2001.

This year’s Induction Ceremony will recognize the Class of 2015:

John R. Ady, Scottsdale, US Army veteran

Sharon A. “Lee” Borgen, Lake Havasu City, U.S. Navy veteran

Jeanne Botwright, Apache Junction, U.S. Marine Corps veteran

Henry A. “Sonny” Brown, Phoenix, U.S. Army veteran

Patrick J. Connell, Peoria, U.S. Marine Corps veteran

Dylan James Dalzotto, Phoenix, U.S. Army veteran

Robert S. Delsi, Casa Grande, U.S. Marine Corps veteran

James “Doc” Dougherty, Peoria, U.S. Army veteran

Dorn P. “Pat” Farrell, Kingman, U.S. Navy veteran

Robert T. “Bob” Hysko, Phoenix, U.S. Army veteran

Andres “Andy” Jaime Jr., Scottsdale, U.S. Army veteran

Gordon C. James, Scottsdale, U.S. Army veteran

Bobby Jones, Avondale, U.S. Navy veteran

Clarence “Shorty” Larson, Sierra Vista, U.S. Army veteran

Richard D. Lemons, Tucson, U.S. Air Force veteran

Michael J.  MaLoon, Huachuca City, U.S. Navy veteran

Paul G. Marsh, Tucson, U.S. Army veteran

Manuel M. “Manny” Rodriguez, Yuma, U.S. Army veteran, posthumous

Pete A. Rosales, Sr., Phoenix, U.S. Army veteran

William G. “Bill” Roscher, Phoenix, U.S. Army veteran

Michael A. “Mikey” Roy, Peoria, U.S. Marine Corps veteran

James G. Sylvester, Eloy, U.S. Air Force veteran

Robert Turpin, Phoenix, U.S. Navy veteran

Robert H. “Bob” Walters, Surprise, U.S. Air Force veteran

William F. “Billy” Weldon, Flagstaff, U.S. Army veteran

Medal of Honor Recipients to be included in the Class of 2015:

Benjamin Brown, Sergeant, U. S. Army, for bravery in Arizona, May 11, 1889

Robert S. Scott, Private, U.S. Army, for gallantry in action, Chiricahua Mountains, AZ, October 20, 1869

Major General (then-First Lieutenant) Leonard Wood, surgeon, U.S. Army, for bravery in the Apache Campaign, Summer 1886

The Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Unified Arizona Veterans, Inc., located in Phoenix, Arizona, and recognized by the Arizona Department of Veterans’ Services, the Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame Society, and the Office of the Governor.

As noted earlier, the induction cermoney is open to veterans and members of the public.  The cost is $50 per person until September 30, 2015. From October 1 to October 12, the lunch cost changes to $60.  Registration is now open for the Induction Ceremony.  Go to the web site: and print out the Guest Registration Form for use by the public.

The reservation form and payments (check or money order) should be sent to to:  Treasurer, Unified Arizona Veterans, P.O. Box 34338, Phoenix 85067.  Veterans and the public who do not have access to the web site, can contact Carol Culbertson, Secretary, telephone 602.943.7834, to have the form mailed to you.  The final RSVP due date is October 12, 2015.  All lunches are pre-paid, lunches will not be sold at the Induction Ceremony event.

For general information about the Induction Ceremony and Luncheon, contact Carol Culbertson, Secretary, Unified Arizona Veterans, at email:, telephone 602.943.7834; or Rob Welch, Chair, Unified Arizona Veterans, at email:, telephone 480.292.5822.

About ADI Staff Reporter 17011 Articles
Under the leadership of Editor-in -Chief Huey Freeman, our team of staff reporters bring accurate,timely, and complete news coverage.