Mesnard Makes House Committee Assignments

Rep. J.D. Mesnard

House Speaker-elect J.D. Mesnard has announced his assignments to House Committees. Democratic Leader Rebecca Rios is expected to announce committee assignments in the near future.

Mesnard named Rep. T.J. Shope as Speaker Pro Tem. In that capacity, Shope, not known for his intellect, will serve as Mesnard’s right-hand-man.

Committee on Appropriations
Rep. Shooter, Chair
Rep. Livingston, Vice Chair
Rep. Bowers
Rep. Carter
Rep. Cobb
Rep. Leach
Rep. Norgaard
Rep. Rivero
Rep. Ugenti-Rita
Sub-Committee on Appropriations—Education
Rep. Norgaard, Chair
Rep. Heather Carter, Vice Chair
Sub-Committee on Appropriations—Public Safety, Infrastructure & Resources
Rep. Leach, Chair
Rep. Livingston, Vice Chair
Subcommittee on Appropriations—Health & Welfare
Rep. Regina Cobb, Chair
Rep. Tony Rivero, Vice Chair
Committee on Rules
Rep. Phil Lovas, Chair
Rep. Paul Boyer, Vice Chair
Rep. John Allen
Rep. Eddie Farnsworth
Rep. TJ Shope
Rep. Kelly Townsend
Committee on Ways & Means
Rep. Michelle Ugenti-Rita, Chair
Rep. Leach, Vice Chair
Rep. Kern
Rep. Lawrence
Rep. Payne
Rep. Weninger
Committee on Banking & Insurance
Rep. David Livingston, Chair
Rep. Farnsworth, Vice Chair
Rep. Lovas
Rep. Paul Mosley
Rep. Jeff Weninger
Committee on Military, Veterans & Regulatory Affairs
Rep. Jay Lawrence, Chair
Rep. Mark Finchem, Vice Chair
Rep. Noel Campbell
Rep. Travis Grantham
Rep. Anthony Kern
Committee on Judiciary & Public Safety
Rep. Farnsworth, Chair
Rep. Kern, Vice Chair
Rep. Boyer
Rep. Finchem
Rep. Stringer
Rep. Syms
Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure
Rep. Campbell, Chair
Rep. John, Vice Chair
Rep. Cook
Rep. Mosley
Rep. Payne
Committee on Commerce
Rep. Weninger, Chair
Rep. Norgaard, Vice Chair
Rep. Todd Clodfelter
Rep. Darin Mitchell
Rep. Shope
Rep. Maria Syms
Committee on Federalism, Property Rights & Public Policy
Rep. Bob Thorpe, Chair
Rep. Finchem, Vice Chair
Rep. Campbell
Rep. Grantham
Rep. Kevin Payne
Rep. Stringer
Committee on Education
Rep. Boyer, Chair
Rep. Coleman, Vice Chair
Rep. Rusty Bowers
Rep. Jill Norgaard
Rep. Becky Nutt
Rep. Don Shooter
Rep. David Stringer
Rep. Michelle Udall
Committee on Energy, Environment & Natural Resources
Rep. Bowers, Chair
Rep. Brenda Barton, Vice Chair
Rep. Cook
Rep. Vince Leach
Rep. Mosley
Rep. Udall
Committee on Local & International Affairs
Rep. Rivero, Chair
Rep. Clodfelter, Vice Chair
Rep. Drew John
Rep. Nutt
Committee on Health
Rep. Carter, Chair
Rep. Cobb, Vice Chair
Rep. Lawrence
Rep. Rivero
Rep. Syms
Rep. Udall
Committee on Government
Rep. Coleman, Chair
Rep. Thorpe, Vice Chair
Rep. Clodfelter
Rep. John
Rep. Ugenti-Rita
Committee on Land, Agriculture & Rural Affairs
Rep. Barton, Chair
Rep. Mitchell, Vice Chair
Rep. Cook
Rep. Grantham
Rep. Nutt

Rep. Anthony Kern was made chair of the Joint Legislative Audit Committee. Rep. Eddie Farnsworth was named chair of the Ethics Committee.

Despite the fact that Rep. Darin Mitchell pulled out of the race for speaker, allowing Mesnard to run unopposed, Mesnard still made the petty choice of denying him a chairmanship.

Mesnard gained attention when he attempted to spar with members of the public during a House Elections Committee hearing last year. While Rep. Ugenti-Rita earned high praise for her handling of the hearing, Mesnard showed contempt for the public. Later his website was attacked by hackers. Visitors to his site were redirected to a hardcore pornography site.

Mesnard has said he is interested in reintroducing the National Popular Vote (NPV) bill. He has not responded to an inquiry has to whether he will push a NPV bill this session.

Speaker of the House J.D. Mesnard
About ADI Staff Reporter 15981 Articles
Under the leadership of Editor-in -Chief Huey Freeman, our team of staff reporters bring accurate,timely, and complete news coverage.