House Appropriations to consider A-10 funding Monday

congress capitol hillSupporters must call Committee members now The U.S. House Appropriations Committee is conducting their full committee markup of the fiscal year 2015 Defense Appropriations Bill on Tuesday, June 10th at 9:30 a.m. The markup is especially important after Arizona Congressman Ron Barber failed to secure funding for the A-10 last month when the House Appropriations Defense Subcommittee developed draft legislation.

According to sources, the Air Force is putting a full court press on House Appropriations Committee members to cut the A-10. Supporters of the A-10 are being urged to call, email, and visit to House Appropriations Committee members on Monday and ask them to fund the A-10 for Fiscal year 2015.

The decision by the House Appropriations Defense Subcommittee surprised everyone including Barber. On May 30, 2014, the AZDI reported, “The move mystified many due to the fact that earlier this month the full House had voted to fund the A-10 fleet for Fiscal Year 2015… Barber released a statement that he was angry that the draft disregarded “the authorization to pay for the A-10 passed with overwhelming and bipartisan support last week.”

In an article entitled The Air Force’s Rationale For Retiring The A-10 Warthog Is Bullshit, Tyler Rogoway writes, “The fact that the USAF is so willing to throw away 300 of the finest close air support platforms ever invented just to save the cost equivalent of 30 F-35 Joint Strike Fighters is total bullshit and both the American taxpayer and those who bravely fight our wars on the ground should be furious.”

According to Rogoway, the Air Force wants to “replace” the A-10 in the future with “something not nearly as “elegant,” but still capable of the basic close air support (CAS) mission.” Rogoway writes, “In the meantime, our soldiers will be left getting close air support from “adequate” high-performance fighter aircraft, Predator and Reaper unmanned systems, and huge aircraft built originally as strategic bombers.”

Tucson’s Davis Monthan Air Force base is home to the A-10. Should supporters fail to keep funding for the A-10; Davis Monthan will be ripe for a BRAC after 2015.

Full Committee Members:

Member Name DC Phone
Hal Rogers (R-KY) [Chairman] 202-225-4601
Frank R. Wolf (R-VA) 202-225-5136
Jack Kingston (R-GA) 202-225-5831
Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-NJ) 202-225-5034
Tom Latham (R-IA) 202-225-5476
Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL) 202-225-4876
Kay Granger (R-TX) 202-225-5071
Mike Simpson (R-ID) 202-225-5531
John Culberson (R-TX) 202-225-2571
Ander Crenshaw (R-FL) 202-225-2501
John R. Carter (R-TX) 202-225-3864
Ken Calvert (R-CA) 202-225-1986
Tom Cole (R-OK) 202-225-6165
Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) 202-225-4211
Charlie Dent (R-PA) 202-225-6411
Tom Graves (R-GA) 202-225-5211
Kevin Yoder (R-KS) 202-225-2865
Steve Womack (R-AR) 202-225-4301
Alan Nunnelee (R-MS) 202-225-4306
Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE) 202-225-4806
Thomas J. Rooney (R-FL) 202-225-5792
Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN) 202-225-3271
Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA) 202-225-3536
Dave Joyce (R-OH) 202-225-5731
David Valadao (R-CA) 202-225-4695
Andy Harris (R-MD) 202-225-5311
Martha Roby (R-AL) 202-225-2901
Mark Amodei (R-NV) 202-225-6155
Chris Stewart (R-UT) 202-225-9730
Nita M. Lowey (D-NY) [Ranking Member] 202-225-6506
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) 202-225-4146
Peter J. Visclosky (D-IN) 202-225-2461
Jose E. Serrano (D-NY) 202-225-4361
Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT) 202-225-3661
Jim Moran (D-VA) 202-225-4376
Ed Pastor (D-AZ) 202-225-4065
David Price (D-NC) 202-225-1784
Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA) 202-225-1766
Sam Farr (D-CA) 202-225-2861
Chaka Fattah (D-PA) 202-225-4001
Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA) 202-225-3631
Barbara Lee (D-CA) 202-225-2661
Adam Schiff (D-CA) 202-225-4176
Mike Honda (D-CA) 202-225-2631
Betty McCollum (D-MN) 202-225-6631
Tim Ryan (D-OH) 202-225-5261
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL) 202-225-7931
Henry Cuellar (D-TX) 202-225-1640
Chellie Pingree (D-ME) 202-225-6116
Mike Quigley (D-IL) 202-225-4061
Bill Owens (D-NY) 202-225-4611